Intensive Hindustani Vocal Workshop

Course Description

This intensive introduction into Hindustani classical music will help build an understanding of the different Bhakti saints and their compositions. Take a brief tour of the history of a few Indian Bhakti poets of the 15th century and learn to sing some Meerabai, Kabir Das and Surdas ji bhajans.

About the course

  • Learn the basics of the dance form.
  • Learn a complete choreography that will enable you to explore the dance form in intensive training
  • Participants will get studio-recorded music for the piece being taught.
  • Participants will be provided with detailed tutorial videos to practice during the week
Know Your Teacher

Dr. Archana Sahakari

Dr Archana Sahakari had her initial learning from Smt. Madhuri Oak ji, later received her training and guidance from Padma Bhushan Shri Kishori Amonkar, Smt. Alkadev Marulkar ji and Pt. Ulhas Kashalkar ji. She has been trained in various aspects of Bandish to structure, in rhythm, the poetic essence, and phonetic pronunciation. She has also learnt tabla for over three years to master the intricacies of Tal and Laya. In her teaching career spanning 25 years she has received several awards and given performances all over the country.

Course details

Duration: 6 weeks

No of classes: 12 classes

Medium of Instruction: English

Minimum age requirement: 10 yrs

The course begins: On 27th July

Teacher: Dr. Archana Sahakari

These are live online classes. Recordings will not be available

Class Timings:

Tuesday and Friday
( July 27, July 30, Aug 3, Aug 6, Aug 10, Aug 13, Aug 17, Aug 20, Aug 24, Aug 27, Aug 31)

India : 8:30pm IST
London, UK : 16:00 ( British Summer Time)
Washington DC, USA : 11:00 EDT
San Francisco, USA : 8:00 PDT
Chicago, USA : 10:00 CDT
Dubai, UAE : 19:00 GST

“Limited Seats! Registrations on a first-come, first-serve basis.”

Fees: One-time payment

National: Rs.7500/-

International – US$ 250

 

Join the Artists Circle